Childhood truthfulness vs. Adult conscience

Is it bad that I want to say things to people that will, in all probability, hurt their feelings–or make them angry/in denial–but I feel they need to hear?

Is this feeling stemming from resentment toward people or feeling people need to wake up to their own reality of hypocricy/ill-judgement? Or is it from something else?

Let me help clarify what I mean when I say resentment toward people. People are corrupt–full of sin–they intentionally murder, rape, lie, use, abuse, begrudge, backbite, neglect, and evoke a whole host of other injustices to people–their very own distant relatives that is the human race–and even not-so-distant relatives. I find bad qualities in myself as well, so don’t worry that I don’t; it’s inevitable as we’re all cursed with sin since Adam and Eve disobeyed God in the Garden of Eden. But my point is that people push my buttons…I much prefer animals, to make my point clearer. There is so much good we can learn from animals, like patience, for one example; an animal can be in excruciating pain and still not lash out against people.

EXTRA EXTRA! I just got news of something that happened in California this past Wednesday. Check this story out [and prepare to be enraged]:
http://www.foxnews.com/us/2010/05/06/california-students-sent-home-wearing-flags-cinco-mayo/
The very flag thousands of American soldiers have DIED for (and we take the term of soldier death too casually. Soldiers have families and are people just like you and I, but would–and HAVE–given up their lives, their very being, to save you or I any given day for THIS COUNTRY, which IS you and I, the air we breathe, and the soil we stand on) should NEVER be a problematic emblem on any holiday, or on ANY given day, taking place in the United States of America. It’s incredible.

I do have something to repeat–I’m still holding out on that draft I typed in March. I haven’t got around to kneading it–editing and working in the stuff I know it needs to become a better entry.

But back to my title subject, my first impulse when I recognize a FAIL–for lack of a better description at the moment–is to call them out and set them straight, even though it may be fairly mean. But then my prefrontal cortex kicks in with the impulse control police and those thoughts get thrown back in the cell before they escape to freedom. Perhaps I have a problem with impatience and whatever else, but maybe this is temperance and I’ll just have to deal with it. One thing is for sure, I don’t want to be one of those that complains to everyone about other people, though I feel the need to talk to somebody about it because I feel like I’m going to explode. I don’t know. I guess this is part of growing up. Either that or I have some quickly-multiplicative rage.

Until next time, Andrea

