Who cares?

Jesus cares. In our hymnal it is #355.

“1. He cares when you’re troubled and the whole world seems wrong,
He cares when the trials try to silence your song;
He cares when you’re lonely, though you laugh with the throng–
Jesus cares.

Yes, Jesus cares. He cares when your heart aches;
Take him your many burdens: Jesus cares.

2. He cares when you stumble in the heat of the day,
He cares when you’re burdened and too weary to pray;
He cares when you fail Him, when your feet go astray–
Jesus cares.
3. He cares when you’re stricken and your strength starts to wane,
He cares when you tremble with fever and pain;
He cares when you’ve struggled but the work seems in vain–
Jesus cares.

Yes, Jesus cares. He cares when your heart aches;
Take him your many burdens: Jesus cares.”

Does Jesus care? #348

“1. Does Jesus care when my heart is pained
Too deeply for mirth or song,
As the burdens press,
And the cares distress,
And the way grows weary and long?

O yes, He cares, I know He cares,
His heart is touched with my grief;
When the days are weary,
The long nights dreary,
I know my Savior cares.

2. Does Jesus care when my way is dark
With a nameless dread and fear?
As the daylight fades
Into deep night shades,
Does He care enough to be near?
3. Does Jesus care when I’ve tried and failed
To resist some temptation strong;
When for my deep grief
I find no relief,
Though my tears flow all the night long?
4. Does Jesus care when I’ve said good-bye
To the dearest on earth to me,
And my sad heart aches
Till it nearly breaks,
Is it aught to Him? Does He see?

O yes, He cares, I know He cares,
His heart is touched with my grief;
When the days are weary,
The long night dreary,
I know my Savior cares.”

Three Questions

When the tickle in your nose
isn’t from a sneeze
When you’re not at ease
and you’re on your knees,
Who hears your pleas?

When the scowl on your brow
isn’t from bitter food
When you’re in a mood
and you feel it brood,
Who, for you, cooed?

When the smile upside-down
isn’t from sour taste
When you think it’s a waste
and you feel like paste,
Who’ll come posthaste?

When you see these questions, three
and many more
With a negative score
and you’re feeling sore
When the dealing’s poor
and problems galore
When wounded at the core
and you fell for the lure,
Open the door.

–Andrea Miller, 1/24/10 12:07am

